Press "Enter" to skip to content

Night Sight Video in Google Pixel

Google made announcements at its I/O developer conference about some of the new features. In its latest feature, the company is bringing things like Locked Folder in Photos and Night Sight videos to Pixel phones, in addition to a handful of other updates.

Locked Folder acts as a local space on your device for pictures you don’t want automatically uploaded to your Photos account where it might get viewed by, say, a partner who has your sign-in info. You can choose to save images you shoot with the camera directly to the locked folder or move shots you’ve already taken there. You’ll find the Locked Folder under the utility section of the app. The videos and stills won’t show up on shared devices, Memories or other apps in your device, and will require your phone’s passcode or your fingerprint for access.

Night Sight Video in Google PixelGoogle also updated its Night Sight camera mode that uses long exposure to capture detailed shots in low light. The updated Night Sight will now take both a picture and video when you tap the shutter button, and the system stitches together the multiple frames you record for however long you leave the camera running to make an animation.

In a GIF showing off the feature, a four-minute timer showed up after astrophotography mode was enabled and the user hit the shutter button. Google said this feature is live now on Pixels 4. The clipboard in GBoard is also getting more context-aware, so when you copy a chunk of text that contains phone numbers, email addresses or URLs, many times it will strip those out and offer them as suggestions for pasting. When you do send them in, say a message to a friend, clicking on them will quickly launch the relevant app, like Maps for navigating to the address or Gmail for the email.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.